Strawberry Fields Forever

winter strawberry fieldsOverall, this is a very quiet time of year in the fields. We have dirt, dirt growing various nutrients for feeding the crops this summer, and, well, more dirt. The one bright spot in the landscape is the strawberries.

The farmers have carefully tucked the plants in plastic sheets to keep those precious little roots warm. This means one late harvest in the Fall, and strong plants ready for the new season in the Spring. The anticipation just kills us all at this point of year when we are so, so, SO ready for fresh local foods!

In a related thought, Mrs L of Pages, Pucks and Pantry was recently reminicisng about New Year’s resolutions not quite kept. Last year, I was going to finally can / jar/ put up for winter, some of our amazing harvest. In the height of any season here, fruits and veggies are sold by the flat, just waiting for this experience. I wanted to, planned to do some canning for the first time in my life. But no. On reflection, I realize that I don’t really want to can / jar/ put up for the winter much of anything. What I REALLY want is to show up at someone’s house who actually knows how to do this and have the proper equipment, contribute a few flats of fruits or veggies and some new Mason jars, and simply take orders in their kitchen. For 2009, I’ve got this clarified version of the resolution on my list. Wish me luck!

4 responses to “Strawberry Fields Forever

  1. Ha! Sounds good. It would be nice to find someone like that!

  2. Hi! I wait for the school breaks so I can hear what you are doing in your area!

    Surprise! What you are wanting to do IS possible. My sister, who lives on the Straits of Juan de Fuca, State of WA, does what you are speaking of. She has a friend who has a “canning operation” in their garage. She and her friend buy the fresh produce from Yakima region, usually peaches and pears. They also can fresh tuna from their local docks.

    We love the fresh (canned in glass masons) tuna so much, that we just can’t eat the store canned anymore.

    We are really enjoying your “foodie” adventures!

  3. So when you find this elusive “canner” please let me know and I’ll show up with my bounty too….we’ll make a day of it! 🙂

  4. Hiya 🙂 Renee from Facebook here!

    I love your new resolution. I am so with you there!

    And on the strawberries. We’ve been looking at the strawberries in the grocery store and so wanting to buy them but it’s a no go. Will wait until they make their appearance at the farmer’s market. Yummm, can’t wait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

