Oh My Darling Clementine

Citrus Ahead signWolfe Ranch mandarins and clementines .. oh yum! They are offering some weekend U-Pick, but one look at the fields on my most recent trip told me that appropriate boots are not a part of my wardrobe. The pickings at the table were slim, which I took as a good sign. That must mean that they are selling lots of their juicy fruits to locals. It doesn’t get much better than that!

The plan was to buy a bag of fruit, give away half, then find a recipe for the rest. What I forgot to include in my plan was the appetite of one teen age boy! But hey, if that is my biggest problem with this venture, life is sure sweet.Wolfe fruit

If you are in the Bay Area and want to take a quick trip down a country lane, past both new and established orchards, over a little wooden bridge, and on back to a quiet magical place frozen in time, this is the side trip for you. The worries of the world simply melt away along this journey.  Just remember to bring your boots.

Side note: the owner is quite sad that their signature purple bags are no longer available. She was bummed about that as she individually stamped each brown bag with their unique rubber stamp.

2 responses to “Oh My Darling Clementine

  1. Those citrus are beautiful.

  2. We keep buying Clementines but I never get to make anything with them either. They have become our go to “dessert” every night after dinner. Yummy little things.

Leave a Reply

