Super Simple Spicy Snapper

northwoods-fireWe can pretty much add this under the “Uh, This is a Recipe?” category, but it is soooooooo good and healthy that I’m going to share it anyways.  You see, I’m one of the many who are just too afraid to cook fish.  Its so, mysterious.  On the other hand, ground beef doesn’t freak me out, and that dichotomy is clearly frightening. When we eat out, I often order fish cuz I really like it … when someone else cooks it.

So, for last months’ Potato Ho-down, I planned a quick little fish fry with some snapper (rock fish actually, but the name is not so enticing) and potato chips.  To be quite clever, I was going to make my own chips, not fries, to go with the fish.  Fried potatoes … how tough can that be?  And if the fish was a miserable, messy failure, at least we could munch on fresh potato chips which would keep us all happy.  And … Giada had whipped up these easy little sweet potato chips with garlic.  “Easy” she said, and I was all in for that.

In short, I picked up some fresh, locally caught rock fish (I know what this stuff really is and why they don’t use that name on the little sign), bagged fish fry mix, potato and sweet potato.  The quickly fried fish was a huge hit … perfect and just yummy!  The white potatoes were just a pathetic soggy mess, and the sweet potatoes quickly over cooked and the garlic topping was gummy and clumpy.  I don’t even remember the last time a new meal had totally tanked so completely!

But, the fish had been divine!  This time, I went simple, simple, simple.  I used one of my favorite Penzy’s spice mixtures, but you could use most any spicy mix in the spice aisle (except steak rubs which contain too much salt for your little fishy) for this super simple spicy snapper and served it with some very non-gummy rosemary potatoes.

Ingredients:

2 snapper / rock fish filets

1/2 tsp Northwoods Fire seasoning

2 TBS canola oil

Directions:

1.  Rinse fish, pat dry, cut each filet into 3 sections, sprinkle with seasoning on each side.

2.  Heat skillet over medium high heat.  Add oil.  When oil begins to move in slow circles (not boiling), add fish filets. 

3.  Cook for 2 to 3 minutes on each side, or until the fish is opaque half way through.  Flip each piece of fish and cook for another 2 minutes.  Remove to a plate.

2 responses to “Super Simple Spicy Snapper

  1. That is funny about the fish-ground beef dichotomy…the fish sounds yummy though…yum, yum, yum.

  2. A) Love Penzy’s
    B) I let the husband cook the fish 🙂

Leave a Reply

