Baked Butternut Squash Risotto

This recipe comes from the Complete Outdoor Living Cookbook that I recently re-found right on my very own cookbook shelf. And while I do have a decent little collection, it sure pales in comparison to my friend Mrs L! You go girl!

Naturally, this recipe is located in the Autumn Main Courses section. I love butternut squash, but others in the family don’t share my appreciation. With this dish, I figured everyone could just get the bits that they like … rice or squash or both. When all was said and done, this was a bit sweeter than I had imagined, and I was the only one who actually liked it. And you know what that means … more left overs for the cook!

Ingredients:

3 1/2 cups chicken or vegetable broth

3 TBS olive oil

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 1/2 cups Arborio or other short grain white rice

1 small butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch cubes

1/2 cup dry white wine

1 cup grated Parmesan or aged Asiago cheese

ground pepper

Directions:

1.  Place the broth in a saucepan and bring to a simmer over medium heat.  Adjust the heat to maintain a low simmer.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2.  In a large oven proof frying pan with a lid, warm the oil over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and cook, stirring, until softened, about 5 minutes.  Add the rice and squash and stir to coat with the oil.  Pour in the wine and stir until the liquid is absorbed.  Add 1/2 cup of the simmering broth and stir until it is absorbed.  Continue cooking, adding 1/2 cup broth at a time and stirring often until you have used and additional 1 1/2 cups broth.  Total cooking time from when you added the wine will be about 12 minutes.

3.  Add the remaining 1 1/2 cups broth and bring to a boil, stirring continually.  Remove from the heat and stir in 1/2 cup of the cheese.  Cover and bake the risotto in the oven until tender, about 20 minutes.  Stir in the remaining 1/2 cup cheese, let stand, partially covered, for 5 minutes.  Season to taste with pepper and serve immediately.

Notes:

* This was my first risotto and I found it very easy.

*  Do bother to use a decent parmesan cheese here and not that pre-grated stuff in a bag.

*  I didn’t bother to actually measure those 1/2 cup additions of broth, figuring that my ladle held about that much liquid.

2 responses to “Baked Butternut Squash Risotto

  1. I love risotto and this recipe looks easy, healthy, and tasty. Nice combination!
    Thanks…
    Melissa

  2. I have yet to make a risotto so I’m glad you found it easy. I may call you once I try to make some! I love butternut squash so this is right up my alley.

Leave a Reply

