Popcorn with Parmesan and Pepper

Last night, we needed a decidedly adult snack for watching “The Show” aka the Veep debates. Popcorn is always good during a show, so I whipped up a batch of my favorite salty treat. This is definitely not your childhood popcorn, and while it may sound a bit odd, be assured that the bowl will always end up empty! I find this best enjoyed with a nice, frosty brew.

As for the debate, it wasn’t the laugh-fest we expected, but was certainly riveting! What did you think?

Popcorn with Parmesan and Pepper

2 TBS corn oil

1/3 cup popcorn kernels

2 TBS extra virgin olive oil

1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan

1/2 tsp freshly cracked black pepper (or more to taste)

1/2 tsp kosher salt (or more to taste)

1. Make fresh popcorn by heating olive oil in a tall pot over medium – high heat. Add one popcorn kernel, and when it pops, add the remainder. Put the lid on the pot and gently slide the pot back and forth over the heat. When the popping stops for 15 seconds, remove from heat.

2. Drizzle olive oil over popcorn while stirring.

3. Add cheese, salt, pepper and toss gently. Serve.

Note: Yes, you really do want to make your own popcorn and not just do the prepackaged microwave thing. (Have you ever opened one of those bags before popping? Eek!) If you have a popcorn maker, of course that will do just fine.

3 responses to “Popcorn with Parmesan and Pepper

  1. Hmm…we got a nice popcorn popper for Christmas. Much better than the packaged stuff. And I think I have some paremesan in the fridge that I can use. If not tonight, I think I’ll have to try this tomorrow night!
    Not home last night so didn’t watch the debates but I have been reading about them this morning. I don’t think I could have dealt with the winking…..

  2. Oh this would definitely satisfy my late night salt cravings…yum.

Leave a Reply

