Sweet Corn and Potato Soup

I finally made the jump from pure summer grilling bliss to an actual almost Fall food. It has been weeks since I’ve turned on the stove, something I state with great pride. Dining al fresco lakeside every evening on fresh veggies from the local farm stands has been divine. Knowing it will slowly come to an end for this year has been just painful. Serious ouch.

This was one of those I Want Comfort Food, Soup Sounds Good, What Can I Make Without Going Shopping kinds of nights. You certainly know what I mean.

Smith Farms was the source of a recent procurement of Brentwood Sweet Corn, red potatoes, red bell pepper, tomatoes, and a few onions. That’s a strong start! From there, I browsed my favorite recipe browsing sites, AllRecipes and Epicurious, zoning in on the corn chowders and perusing those all important comments. It seems that canned cream corn is a pantry staple in some areas, but I had the real deal right here. Another recipe used fresh corn, but added 3 cups of heavy cream. Oh holy hips and thighs! No way I was going there for a simple meal!

With the cooling of seasons, I also delighted in being able to further explore my inner Potato Ho – ness! Sweet, local summer veggies and red potatoes …. be still my heart! A big ol’ PH thanks to Asthma Girl for hosting the event this month!

In the end, this is how I put the chowder together, and I sure hope you can smell the luscious sweet corn through the photo!

Ingredients:

6 cobs of sweet corn, kernels removed (hint, if you cut really slowly, those kernels won’t jump all over your kitchen)

4 red potatoes, cut into 1/2 in dice

3 slices bacon, chopped fine

1 medium onion, chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

1 15 oz can chicken broth

2 to 3 cups lowfat milk (I used 1% with success)

2 tsp thyme (this totally made the dish!)

Directions:

1. Heat pot over medium heat, and cook the bacon just until the edges start to brown. Add onion and cook until if softens, about another 4 minutes. Add potatoes and cook another 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.

2. Add corn, red bell pepper, thyme, chicken broth and 2 cups of milk. Cook for 10 minutes or until potatoes are just cooked though. (Taste testing is important here! You have my permission.)

3. Using an immersion blender, give the soup about 4 pulses. Check to see if the soup has moved from a brothy consistency to a thicker consistency. If not, give it a few more pulses. You want a nice mixture of thick chowder, with a good amount of corn kernels and potato pieces still intact. Alternately, you could move half of the soup to a blender and give it a few pulses then return that to the pot.

4. Heat to a low simmer, adding more milk as needed for your desired consistency.

Notes:

  • this whole soup took 20 minutes tops to make, which qualifies it for future meals in our house.
  • I wouldn’t buy bacon just for this recipe, as a bit of diced carrots or celery could easily add that extra layer of flavor.
  • corn kernels from fresh cobs really do fly like crazy when you try to cut them off quickly. Slow down. It will actually save you time in the end.
  • We had this with the best grilled cheese sandwich ever and delighted in our delicious dinner: sliced sourdough bread from a small bakery, provolone cheese, sliced heirloom tomatoes.
  • In the dead of winter, I’m sure to dream of this simple, yet fantastic, meal!
4 responses to “Sweet Corn and Potato Soup

  1. Okay, you got my tummy growling with this recipe!
    And for the record, I need no reason to buy bacon. I use it in so many recipes that I keep a stock of it in my freezer. I find if I render it well, it can replace the oil or butter I need for sauteeing, some salt and spices for flavouring, and maybe even some of the meat I planned on using.
    Such a versatile ingredient!

  2. Oh, I’d buy bacon just for the recipe! I love corn and potato soup so I’ll have to make this (and isn’t it fun being a Potato Ho!?)

  3. Awesome! What a wonderful entry, I hope you emailed it over to Diane for the Ho Down Round Up! Yahoo!

  4. What a great entry – Now if the weather would get below a freakin 105 here I would love to make this – It will be top on the list when it is time for comfort food!!

Leave a Reply

