Closing Time

Yesterday morning, just as I was thinking of making brine for some pork chops, I came across the Food Blogga recipe for Skillet Boneless Pork Chops with Rosemary Peaches. Perfect. My next door neighbor has oodles of rosemary and kindly invites me over to snip a bit here and there, and I do love rosemary in brine. So, the pork chop part would be fine, but I needed peaches.

My first try was at Arata Fruit, which was a gamble as they are only open for a bit each summer.

But I found:

So I headed over to Farmers Daughter, hoping they were still open but knowing that they tend to close up shop in early September.

From there, I heading just across the street to TK’s Bes

t. Bingo! They told me that they’ll stay open for another 8 weeks, but I couldn’t help but notice that their selection is dwindling. Currently they have just a few of the Chinese eggplants and various p

eppers that they are so well known for along with a smattering of fruits from other local farms. But I did get my peaches!

Now I just need to figure out how to make a similar pork chop recipe on the grill. With the temperatures hitting triple digits pretty early today, there is just no way the stove is going to be used for dinner!

One response to “Closing Time

  1. I’ve been gone on Sundays for a while so I’m curious as to what I’ll find at my local farmers market this Sunday. I’ve never made it there this late in the season.

Leave a Reply

