Brentwood Corn or Bust

This may sound crazy, but it is par for the course around here. So, I’m heading out to see my folks today (about an hour away) and they call with a terrible problem. Their local grocery store, which usually sells Brentwood sweet corn, is selling some other corn. Gasp! I know, I know, this may sound minor to you, but it most certainly is not! See, during Corn Season, yes with a capital C and a capital S, there is Brentwood corn and there is substandard corn. I’ve seen Brentwood corn sold at grocery stores two states away; its that big of a deal and for good reason. This stuff is corn on the cob perfected. My parents were being offered substandard corn right in the middle of Corn Season. This is bad, bad, bad

Being the dutiful daughter that I am, I stopped by Lon’s Organic to get some fresh Brentwood corn for my folks. And oh my, his heirloom tomatoes called my name. Of course I picked up a nice selection of those, too, because that’s just the kind of daughter I am.

Leave a Reply

